Jovanni & Deniz FB.png

 

Saturday MAY. 22, 2021  - 11 am Pacific / noon Mountain / 2:00 pm Eastern / 9:00 pm Turkey

YouTube live stream

 

AVAILABLE TO VIEW NOW

https://youtu.be/moRDG0toA5U

Deniz Başar & Jovanni Sy

Playwright to Playwright


Join us as Deniz Başar interviews the playwright that influenced her, Jovanni Sy, on his play Taste of Empire and more. 
This is the 9th pairing of our interview series where emerging writers interview a Canadian playwright that has influenced their work.

 

About the Playwrights

JOVANNI SY
Jovanni Sy is a Calgary-based playwright, director, and performer. He served as Artistic Director of Gateway Theatre (Vancouver) and of Cahoots Theatre (Toronto). He has collaborated with theatre companies across Canada and abroad.
Jovanni's one-man play, A Taste of Empire, was nominated for two Dora Awards. It was subsequently translated into Cantonese and performed by Derek Chan. A Tagalog version (Lasa ng Imperyo) is being developed by Carmela Sison.
Jovanni’s award-winning play Nine Dragons premiered in Calgary in 2017 before transferring to Winnipeg and Vancouver. Currently in development: Kowloon Bay for Vertigo Theatre and Salesman in China (with Leanna Brodie) for the Stratford Festival.

DENIZ BAŞAR
Deniz Baar is a theatre researcher, puppet maker and two-time national* award-winning playwright from Turkey. In 2014, she received one of the most prestigious playwriting awards in Turkey (Mitos-Boyut theatre publishing agency’s annual contest) for her play The Itch, which was published in the award winning collection of that year. In 2016, she won the Derbent Playwriting Contest, which was a collaboration project between Iranian and Turkish independent theatre artists, with her play In the Destructible Flow of a Vast Monolithic Moment, and her play was translated into Persian. This play was later performed as a stage reading in the 2019 Revolution They Wrote Feminist Theatre Festival in Montreal. She worked as a dramaturge, puppet maker and production assistant in various theatres in Toronto and Montreal between 2014 and 2020, and was awarded grants and residencies for her plays like Genius to the Other and Wine and Halva. * from the national playwriting competitions of Turkey

Are you an emerging or earlier-career writer? Got a Canadian playwright that has influenced your work? Send us an email at projects@plaything.ca!

Playwright to Playwright is supported by PGC PlayConnect and the Canada Council for the Arts.

PlayConnect-Logo-Black-1024x512.png